Reason over Emotions

So it’s 5:00 am on January 1, 2014 and I was thinking of last night. Friends who I have known since Terry and I started dating wanted me to come to their house and join them for their annual New Year’s Eve Party. Something that Terry and I had done for years and years.  The couple hosting the party were really good friends of ours. They even got married on Terry and my anniversary. Plus Terry was his best man and I was her matron of honor and our older daughter Amanda was their flower girl. To say that we are the best of friends is an understatement.

I really had been looking forward to it. All our friends would be there, I would get to see everyone. Really it sounded wonderful. At about 3 in the afternoon I started having doubts about the evening. At 4 I lay down on the couch and took an hour long nap. At 5 I went in and took a bath. And then it happened: I started crying. I cried for about 20 minutes and thought I can’t go there; I will make everyone else miserable. I just sat on my bed, immobilized.

And then it hit me. These people love me, they loved Terry. They want me there. They are the best of my best friends! They would be more upset if I didn’t come.

I write this blog not to make you feel sorry for me, but to make you understand that the things that you really, really dread in life, usually just mean that they are very, very important. I would have been a wreck if I stayed home last night, feeling sorry for myself and starting the New Year that way. Ick!

I went and had a wonderful time as I knew I would. We laughed, we ate, we toasted, we reminisced and then midnight came and I was amongst my friends. I just think it is so funny how our mind tries to re-evaluate what we should and shouldn’t do and dread the things that are most important in life. I would have missed a moment with my friends that I could never get back. I am so glad somewhere in my brain reason won over emotions and I created a new memory.

So here’s to 2014. I christen it the year of old traditions and new beginnings. Happy New Year!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Inspiration

Leave a Reply

